Testimonials & Photos

Video Testimonials From Our Graduates

 

Read Sonya’s blog about her experience getting TEFL Certified with TEFL Zorritos

Our February 2015 Crew

Our February 2015 Course

Testimonials

“Thanks so much for turning someone who was terrified of public speaking into a confident English teacher. I will be forever grateful for that.” Shannon Tobin, USA, August 2016

“Absolutely amazing! Ellie teaches from experience, unlike many others. The manner of teaching is the same way she expects us to teach, if that makes sense. The course has been so intense, but the month has passed so quickly! The small group approach is perfect. The extra time Ellie was able to spend with each of us has been priceless.” Carla Martin, USA, March 2016

“I was thrilled with the TEFL Zorritos experience. I think that this is a really good “gateway” experience for anyone interested in working and living abroad.” Marnie Pacheco, USA, September 2015

Our May 2017 Course

“Every day proved to be an awakening experience. I kept saying (to myself), how in the world does our trainer gather such a firm foundation in the knowledge that she is bringing to the class? The delivery of the material was very engaging . . . and her energy was like “the Energizer bunny” – never ending! I am very thankful for this experience. The trainer brought a group of individuals unrelated in many ways into a group of cohesiveness that was able to produce a quality product (TESOL) in 4-weeks.” Stephen Massey, USA, March 2016

“Ellie was a wonderful and passionate teacher. She showed professionalism and experience throughout the course.” Jeremy Petru, USA, October 2014

“The small group size was a main reason for picking TEFL Zorritos in the first place. I like that we are all like a little family leaving this course; it was very personal and we got more hands-on teaching experience because the class size was so much smaller.” Trista Dorscher, Canada, May 2017

Our March 2016 Course

Our March 2016 Course

“I found the practice teaching classes to be very useful. They are an essential part of the course and provide real life experience before the student starts their journey as a TEFL teacher. I believe that the hours we had were enough. I am aware that other institutes offer less in many cases. Ellie was a super instructor. Her knowledge was outstanding and she bought a large amount of enthusiasm and energy to her classes that was quite infectious. She helped us immensely outside of class time as well, which was reassuring and very helpful when it came to issues such as travel and communications with locals.” Matt Peterson, Australia, March 2016

“Being in a small group was a nice experience and meant we all got the help that we needed, in a group of 20 you could easily get lost in the crowd. An incredible course, an amazing accomplishment for it to be over and I am excited to take these skills out into the big bad world!” Emily Warwick, Australia, March 2016

“I thoroughly enjoyed my course here in Zorritos. I learned everything that I hoped to and more. I can’t think of a better location to take a month long intensive course than right on the beach. It was a very casual and positive environment to learn in. I feel confident and prepared after completing this course.” Logan Austin, USA, September 2015

Our August 2016 Course

Our August 2016 Course

“If you want to teach TEFL in South America (especially in Peru), take this course.  Ellie’s the best.  Zorritos and Sunset Club are the perfect locations for an intensive, one-month program.  The teaching practice is invaluable.  Do it.  Seriously, do it!” Adam Stengel, USA, September 2014

“I couldn’t imagine taking this course with 10-20 people.  I wouldn’t have gotten enough Ellie time.  The personalized instruction that results from the small group is so much more helpful.” Greg Avila, USA, February 2015

“This was such a great course. I can’t recommend it highly enough! “The practice teaching classes were invaluable. I can’t imagine entering a TEFL classroom for the first time without having had this experience. The fact that we taught real, local students with a variety of ability levels was unbelievably helpful. If a TEFL course doesn’t offer teaching experience with real, non-English-speaking students, don’t take it! “ Greg Zoller, USA, September 2014

“I am very happy I had a small group. Six people was a good amount for peer teaching, and pair work. I felt like a real person in the class, and that my opinions were heard, and that I mattered. Ellie is incredibly knowledgeable about the subject of TEFL and grammar. She delivered the course materials in an engaging manner, and she ensured we understood. The pace of each lesson was good, and she managed to cover a lot of material in a very organized way. She truly cared.” Maggie MacLeod, Canada, March 2016

Our October 2014 Course

Our October 2014 Course

“LOVELY location… Being able to walk on the beach at lunch time to let off some stress and steam was amazing. The weather, breeze, and sunshine made learning enjoyable.” Bekka Shadoan, USA, October 2014

“Practice teaching is what makes a TEFL course relevant. You can sit in a classroom and learn teaching methodologies but until you are given an opportunity to implement them, it means nothing. I learned how to be confident in front of students, how to engage students of all abilities and how to deliver content accurately and insightfully. Incredible program overall and the cultural experience is worth every minute.” Rockwell Louke, USA, May 2014

“I have had a good time here in Zorritos learning to teach English. It has taken a little adjustment and at times I found the course very challenging, but there have also been some very rewarding moments too. The skills and knowledge give me a lot of confidence moving forward to teaching.” Jeremy Senior, New Zealand, May 2017

Our September 2014 Course

Our September 2014 Course

“Overall, my trainer has been the absolute perfect trainer for this course.  Ellie leads by example and her passion for teaching TEFL students is constantly seen throughout the topics that are covered.  She ensures that the students understand the concepts and works with them when needed.  She’s very upbeat and very professional throughout the entire course.  Her knowledge around the industry and her own life experiences in this field are to be applauded.  She truly exudes the face and personality of a motivated and dedicated TEFL trainer!  I strongly feel sorry for individuals who have wasted their time\money on anything LESS THAN what I’ve experienced with Ellie.” Sonya Burns, USA, February 2015

“TEFL Zorritos was phenomenal, I could not have asked for more. Ellie, my instructor, absolutely went above and beyond the call of duty in every way and provided an incredibly satisfying and comprehensive course. I wholeheartedly recommend this program to any and all who are interested.” Peter McGann, USA, May 2014

“I’m glad I signed up for this course!  And I’m very proud of myself for completing this course.  It challenged me to my EDGE and I came out on the other side…smiling.  Thank you!” Sarah Whisler, USA, January 2014

Read all of our testimonials from all of our courses below

 

Photos of Our TEFL Courses

 Videos of Our TEFL Courses

Our trainees from our January 2014 course have some fun creating skits to teach the meanings of different phrasal verbs. 

Our trainees from our September 2014 course created a skit about “Magic Zorritos” to demonstrate the use of modal verbs. 

 

http://youtu.be/syKhAy8vLyE/

Our trainees from our October 2014 course have a giggle during a peer teaching game they created to use the Second Conditional

 

Testimonials – May 2017

“The teaching practice classes were extremely valuable. At first the thought of teaching terrified me, but by my 10th class I wasn’t even nervous and was actually excited about the lessons I was planning. I think it was a good amount of teaching practice. I would not have the confidence to even think of teaching without this TEFL course. Before the course I had no idea what I was doing and it would have been disrespectful to the students to teach them in that state. The TEFL course gave me the confidence and the knowledge I need going forward.” Trista Dorscher, Canada

“It was great month; I learnt a lot and really enjoyed getting to meet Ellie, Adan and the rest of the group doing the course.” Shannon Courtney, New Zealand

“I would not have been comfortable teaching English without the course. I might have been able to stumble through it, but I am not comfortable delivering any form of work without being qualified. I certainly needed the grammar review, the practice planning, and teaching in order to feel confident in delivering quality lessons.” Nancy Fox, USA

“The practice teaching classes were extremely beneficial, covering a range of student ages and abilities. It was a great way to build confidence in both lesson planning and delivering.” Margaret Stromberg, Australia

“It was refreshing to have a small group to interact with as it felt less pressured. Every trainee was given equal attention – which doesn’t happen in large groups.” Jube Varghese, Australia

“I have had a good time here in Zorritos learning to teach English. It has taken a little adjustment and at times I found the course very challenging, but there have also been some very rewarding moments too. The skills and knowledge give me a lot of confidence moving forward to teaching.” Jeremy Senior, New Zealand

“The practice teaching classes are very useful. They were exactly what I wanted. I learned, well, pretty much everything from how to make a lesson plan and design it for the age and level of learner, to how to think on my feet and feel out what I need to teach more or less based on how the class is reacting to my material and lesson.” Andrew Hewitt, USA

 

Testimonials – November 2016

“A great and challenging course in a wonderful location, was even better than I had hoped. I went in with a lot of doubts as hadn’t studied for quite some time, it’s given me the confidence for a change of career and a different future.” Barney Dale, Australia

“Ellie was WONDERFUL. She was super excited about teaching the course, and this really carried over into the lessons. I really hope she continues with teaching these courses for as long as possible – she’s obviously really good at what she does and is super inspiring.” Sam Bango, USA

“Because Ellie does her work with a lot of passion the course was inspiring and fun. I completely trust in Ellie’s knowledge because she has a lot of experience and I am convinced she only wants the best for her students and the institutes we are going to work for in the future.” Rianne Konings, Holland

“The teaching classes were the best part of the course. They were extremely helpful in the learning process and made me feel a lot more confident in teaching. I learned how to build a lesson plan and how to give a successful lesson. I think the amount was perfect.” Sam Bango, USA

 

Testimonials – August 2016

“Thanks so much for turning someone who was terrified of public speaking into a confident English teacher. I will be forever grateful for that.” Shannon Tobin, USA

“I loved the small group setting. It gave more time for questions during class, and the one on one feedback was fantastic. I can say I would not have been able to teach English without the course. The main reasons are the lack of knowledge about how to create group activities for the 4 skill areas, present information such as grammar, vocabulary, and pronunciation, and how to write a lesson plan. Without those 3 skills I do not know how anyone could say they can teach English effectively.” Drew Peterson, USA

“My TEFL trainer was excellent in all aspects. I enjoyed the experience with the other 4 trainees, being a smaller group we became close and I imagine had more one to one time with the trainer than a larger class. The practice classes were essential, in my opinion, to learn to be an effective teacher. I think the quantity of practice lessons is correct at 10 and having the different levels and ages is also very useful. I wouldn’t have even attempted to teach English without this course.” Richard Newman, New Zealand

“I appreciated the fact that the course at Sunset Club was carried out in a very casual setting, open to discussion and debate. Regardless of this, it was also very enlightening and offered opportunities for getting to know Peruvians in a more rural part of the country, in terms of the way they think and live, which is much different from those in the bigger city areas, which cater more to tourists.” Angel Victor, Trinidad & Tobago

 

Testimonials – March 2016

“Absolutely amazing! Ellie teaches from experience, unlike many others. The manner of teaching is the same way she expects us to teach, if that makes sense. The course has been so intense, but the month has passed so quickly! The small group approach is perfect. The extra time Ellie was able to spend with each of us has been priceless.” Carla Martin, USA

“Being in a small group was a nice experience and meant we all got the help that we needed, in a group of 20 you could easily get lost in the crowd. An incredible course, an amazing accomplishment for it to be over and I am excited to take these skills out into the big bad world!” Emily Warwick, Australia

“Every day proved to be an awakening experience. I kept saying (to myself), how in the world does our trainer gather such a firm foundation in the knowledge that she is bringing to the class? The delivery of the material was very engaging . . . and her energy was like “the Energizer bunny” – never ending! I am very thankful for this experience. The trainer brought a group of individuals unrelated in many ways into a group of cohesiveness that was able to produce a quality product (TESOL) in 4-weeks.” Stephen Massey, USA

“I found the practice teaching classes to be very useful. They are an essential part of the course and provide real life experience before the student starts their journey as a TEFL teacher. I believe that the hours we had were enough. I am aware that other institutes offer less in many cases. Ellie was a super instructor. Her knowledge was outstanding and she bought a large amount of enthusiasm and energy to her classes that was quite infectious. She helped us immensely outside of class time as well, which was reassuring and very helpful when it came to issues such as travel and communications with locals.” Matt Peterson, Australia

“I am very happy I had a small group. Six people was a good amount for peer teaching, and pair work. I felt like a real person in the class, and that my opinions were heard, and that I mattered. Ellie is incredibly knowledgeable about the subject of TEFL and grammar. She delivered the course materials in an engaging manner, and she ensured we understood. The pace of each lesson was good, and she managed to cover a lot of material in a very organized way. She truly cared.” Maggie MacLeod, Canada

 

Testimonials – September 2015

“My experiences here in Zorritos have been wonderful. I can’t think of a better environment in which to take a class. Ellie is a fantastic teacher. She has a lot of patience with us! Overall, I feel that I have learned a lot this month.” Michael Butler, USA

“I think Ellie is very talented and running a very professional operation with a personal touch. I really applaud the whole experience and her efforts.” Marnie Pacheco, USA

“I really enjoyed my time at TEFL Zorritos. The instructor was awesome and went above and beyond her duties to help us all. I think the location was great to take the course. I feel extremely prepared to teach because of our ten hours of teaching experience from the course.” Adan Garcia, USA

“Ellie is a pleasure to be around, and very competent. On top of this, she is a big help with things that pop up outside of class. She is always willing to help. As for delivery, she was always prepared and stayed on track.” Michael Butler, USA

“I was very happy with the cost and experience. Ellie is professional but also goes above and beyond with assisting in all matters.” Marnie Pacheco, USA

“The practice teaching classes were the most useful part of the course. I learned a lot of lesson planning, time management, and thinking out of the box from the practice classes.  I feel 10 hours is a good amount of time. Anything more might be too much. I feel the 10 hours prepared me well.” Adan Garcia, USA

“I much prefer a small group. When there are many students, you don’t receive as much individualized attention.” Michael Butler, USA

“I really had a wonderful time. Ellie has been such a great resource for so many different things. Keep up the good work.” Adan Garcia, USA

“The trainer was very well prepared and it was obvious they were very knowledgeable and experienced with the material. The delivery was very easily understood and interesting.” Adan Garcia, USA

“I really liked our small group. We had the opportunity to learn from each other, but it was small enough that we could ask lots of questions.” Logan Austin, USA

“Having only 4 trainees was great! I feel I got lots of personal attention from the trainer because of the small group. With only a couple other trainees we were able to get to know each other better and develop more trust.” Adan Garcia, USA

Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? “I think I would have been able to teach, however I wouldn’t be very focused or know what I am doing. Creating the lesson plans has been a great learning experience.” Adan Garcia, USA

“My classes were very helpful. I have taught in the past, but not as organized. I learned how to properly organize a class. This was the perfect amount of practice. I felt challenged, but sometimes that is what’s needed.” Michael Butler, USA

 

Testimonials – February 2015

“I have looked at other English teaching classes and this one was the one that looked and sounded the best. I would recommend TEFL Zorritos to anyone interested in teaching English as a foreign language.” Cheryl Avila, USA

“The practice teaching was invaluable, the students were non-English speakers and it gave me real world experience.  I learned to not have a pre-conceived thought of what the class would or should be but to be able to adjust the lesson to the needs of the class at the time of the class.” Cheryl Avila, USA

“Ellie was an excellent trainer. She is very knowledgeable and clearly passionate about teaching. She explained grammar points well and was great at modeling how our teaching roles should be done.” Cheryl Avila, USA

“The practice teaching classes were extremely useful.  Primarily because our students were all local and their levels of English varied across the board.  It allowed us the opportunity to work with every student at every level.  During the practice teaching, I was able to learn how to effectively plan my lessons based upon the students (not the class), work with better activities that will ensure that the student has what he/she needs to complete the wrap up activity and constantly perform concept checks WITHOUT asking the students to simply repeat what was just said.  Ask cc questions that proved they understand the material. Overall, I had just the right amount of time for practice teaching.” Sonya Burns, USA

“The practice teaching classes were essential to my understanding.  Working with local ESL students provided the realistic classroom experience that took my learning to a new level.  I not only had a chance to practice my teaching skills, but to work with students of different levels.  I believe that you can never practice too much, but what practice I had was enough to feel confident in my ability.” Greg Avila, USA

“Blimmin awesome – really enjoyed it and surprised to know that I love teaching.” Indiana Forsell McLauchlan, NZ

“The class I was in was only 4 students. I liked the small size it was a more intimate process of learning.” Cheryl Avila, USA

“Ellie was wonderful.  Her wealth of knowledge and effortless instructional style made the course informative and enjoyable.  Her kind and gentle manner are both reassuring and comforting.” Greg Avila, USA

Q. Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? “Nope. I had no idea how to create a lesson plan, teach effectively or even know that I could teach.” Indiana Forsell McLauchlan, NZ

“I don’t think I would have even tried to teach English without this course. I would not have had the ability to explain the grammar point. I would not have been able to experience teaching non English speakers and would not have any idea how to.” Cheryl Avila, USA

Q. How useful were your practice teaching classes? “Very useful – I learnt a lot – I had plenty of time practice teaching and I think that is one of the advantages of this course, that on the second week we get practical teaching practice.” Indiana Forsell McLauchlan, NZ

“My class only had 4 students.  This was PERFECT FOR ME.  I would not have been able to focus with more than this.   Quite honestly, I feel that all TEFL classes should be this small or not to exceed 6.  Considering  the class time includes group activities, peer teaching, lesson plan review  and other things that could consume up MORE time if each group were to present and\or discuss topics around the room…it would be daunting.  I’d want to pull my hair out.  Additionally, not to mention the side-conversations that distract the Trainer and take away from a learning experience that we all have paid for.  Smaller classes feel less “commercial” and I’m not made to feel like I’m a part of an assembly line process … herded through the masses like cattle.  Had there been any more students in the class, I would have isolated myself  more because I would have been forced to zone in and focus on what was at hand as oppose to the many distractions around the class and any one-on-one time(if needed) to assist me in understanding.” Sonya Burns, USA

“Sunset Club was a beautiful location for this class. It was comfortable and peaceful. The staff were excellent and took care of all our needs.” Cheryl Avila, USA

Q. What was your opinion of your TEFL trainer, their knowledge and their delivery of your course? “Bloody brilliant.” Indiana Forsell McLauchlan, NZ

“Keep up the EXCELLENT JOB! I am going to recommend TEFL ZORRITOS TO EVERYONE! Miss it already!” Sonya Burns, USA

“I would have been able to teach English without having completed this course.  I considered it.  I’m glad that I didn’t, because it would have been quite a struggle to navigate the unknown world of TEFL without the understanding that I currently possess.  I am so thankful for the education that I’ve received as I venture off to the real world.” Greg Avila, USA

 

Testimonials – October 2014

“The practice classes were enriching and lovely, once I was in the teaching role with the students. The lesson planning was the hardest part, and required the most concentration and effort. I feel the amount of practice teaching was just right, although more is always merrier, I can’t imagine feeling prepared with any less. I was able to practice techniques of classroom management, such as working with diverse student abilities and learning styles. I also gained experienced with adjusting my lesson plan on the fly, adapting to less students than anticipated and late students arriving which boosted my class attendance from one to seven.” Bekka Shadoan, USA

“I had an amazing time and will recommend to all friends.” Jeremy Petru, USA

Q. What was your opinion of your TEFL trainer, their knowledge and their delivery of your course? “Absolutely amazing!!!! I am in amazement of her professionalism and ability to deal with difficult people. She is very knowledgable of the information, and her delivery was very smooth, organized, and simplified enough for laymen to comprehend.” Charles Flowers-Mitchell, USA

“The practice teaching classes were a great way of getting some experience and a grasp of what to expect in the future. After 10 hours of practice teaching, I feel more confident and adapt to handle classroom issues and common pitfalls that a teacher might face. 10 hours of teaching practice was perfect.” Jeremy Petru, USA

“Ellie is an amazing resource of TEFL wisdom and real-world experience. She has infectiously high energy, which was very welcomed especially after three nights of practice classes in a row. Her board-work was very clear and easy to follow, and she always allowed us time to write it all in our notebooks or take photos of the board for later studying. She mixed up the day so nicely, ensuring we had activities between longer grammar lessons. Her relentless assistance and availability while we planned our lessons was invaluable, and no matter how stressed we seemed to be, she always took the time to nudge us back on track and encourage us to not give up.” Bekka Shadoan, USA

“I honestly can’t imagine completing a TEFL course with more than 8 students. With 4, we had the opportunity for detailed feedback from Ellie and personal attention, which as a middle-aged adult I really appreciated. We got to know each other’s learning and teaching styles, allowing us to utilize strengths and help each other out. With a smaller trainee group, we were able to get all of our individual questions answered, and had access to Ellie when we needed her. I believe smaller groups of trainees make for a much better experience as a learner, and produce a higher quality of TEFL teacher.” Bekka Shadoan, USA

“Ellie was a wonderful and passionate teacher. She showed professionalism and experience throughout the course.” Jeremy Petru, USA

Q. How useful were your teaching practice classes? “Very useful. The challenges and unexpected situations, such as maintaining peer relationships with difficult personalities, all build experience. The 10 hours was a good introduction. I tend to over-plan, so more practice teaching would be nice, but I couldn’t imagine fitting more into the time allotted during this accelerated program. 3 hours per week, was plenty.” Charles Flowers-Mitchell, USA

Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? “Yes, but the skills required to be an effective teacher would be missing without the course.” Jeremy Petru, USA

Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? “No. It would be like trying to drive a car without ever seeing someone drive nor ever having been inside a car before. TEFL Zorritos gave me the building blocks of a foundation to teach a foreign language to non-English speakers.” Charles Flowers-Mitchell, USA

Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? “Heck no! I would have been flailing and winging it, which is not a good experience for students. The grammar lessons and practice teaching are gold!” Bekka Shadoan, USA

“If I were to retake the course, I will choose a similar class size. The individual attention and feedback made the experience enjoyable and effective.” Jeremy Petru, USA

“LOVED lunch being provided. It was excellent food, and it took the guess work out of finding places, getting back on time, and the hassle involved in all that. Having time for a nap after lunch was awesome.” Bekka Shadoan, USA

“I just have to say THANK YOU to Ellie, all our lovely students, Oscar and his family at Sunset Club, Cleo and Willy at Casa Kresala, and everyone in Zorritos for taking such good care of us as we adjust to life in Peru! I am so happy we chose TEFL Zorritos over any online or course elsewhere.” Bekka Shadoan, USA

“Lunch was always delicious. Sunset was very accommodating for my dietary needs (gluten allergy). Trying to organize my own lunch would’ve only taken away from time to relax after eating & added stress of watching the clock and trying to get back to class on time. A prepared lunch and one hour break works well together.” Charles Flowers-Mitchell, USA

 

Testimonials – September 2014

“Ellie is a fantastic trainer. Her exceptional knowledge of teaching methodology will be amply apparent to you after your first day of class. Ellie has both the know-how and the patience and ability to deliver said know-how in a very clear way. She was always willing to give us an extraordinary level of individual help and attention. Ellie seems to have the valuable, and certainly uncommon, ability to elicit the best in her students. She helped us to developing teaching strategies that utilize each of our unique abilities and interests. I certainly didn’t expect myself to feel this confident in my teaching ability after just four short weeks. I cannot recommend Ellie’s course highly enough! …and, no, she didn’t pay me to write that.” Greg Zoller, USA

“Ellie kicked ass in all departments and still managed to take care of us like we were her children.  I would recommend Ellie’s course and location to the world.  If you need a TEFL, come to Zorritos to get it!” Marty Bertoni, USA

“The practice teaching classes were incredibly useful.  I had no idea what to expect, when it came to teaching language-learners, but practice teaching gave me the training and preparation to excel in my future TEFL career. The 10 hours of practice teaching was the perfect amount.” Adam Stengel, USA

Q. Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? “Yeah, sure, I could have gotten a gig and taught—in the long term—effectively, but this TEFL course provided me with the experience and opportunity to excel in teaching English right off the bat. Certainly, it’s been worth the time and money.” Adam Stengel, USA

“It was all perfect.  All the classes helped me to find my voice.  I got better with every class.  I learned that I am and forever could be an English teacher.  Thank you for this key to the doorway of the world.” Marty Bertoni, USA

“I cannot imagine a better TEFL trainer than Ellie.  She’s vastly knowledgeable, totally approachable, forever patient, and an all-around lovely person.  She makes the TEFL Zorritos experience, and, because of her, I would recommend the course to anyone.” Adam Stengel, USA

“I’m very happy with my experience! It was a great course and I feel very well-prepared to enter the TEFL world.” Greg Zoller, USA

“Sunset Club has been downright majestic!  The staff and facilities are first class.  And if you find yourself with a case of the Peru Belly, just holler at Juan and he’ll hook you up with a coconut, right off the palm tree, baby!” Adam Stengel, USA

Q. How useful were your practice teaching classes? “Definitely the most useful part of the course (tutor’s feedback included), especially with basic and pre-intermediate levels, who are more challenging than the others. “Practice makes perfect”, as well as observing our classmates’ classes.” Yann Le Bougeant, France

Q. What was your opinion of the course location at Sunset Club? “I give it a 10! Educational on all levels! What better way to train students to be living in another country.” Marty Bertoni, USA

“I think that without this course, I would have been able to teach English…poorly. The observed practice teaching combined with the grammatical explanations were very helpful.” Greg Zoller, USA

Q. Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? “Maybe, but certainly not as well. This was definitely the way to get my TEFL certificate.” Marty Bertoni, USA

Q. What was your opinion of the course location at Sunset Club? “Beautiful! An ideal spot. It was great to be able to walk on the beach and dip my toes in the ocean during our breaks.” Greg Zoller, USA

 

Testimonials – May 2014

“The practice teaching classes were incredibly useful, particularly considering the fact that we were teaching non-native speakers. The amount of time devoted to practice teaching and preparation seemed completely appropriate.” Peter McGann, USA

“Ellie is one of the most professional, personable and dedicated teachers I have ever interacted with. She was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.” Rockwell Louke, USA

Q. Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? Why/why not? “Absolutely not. I would have had no idea where to start. With the knowledge gained in this TEFL course, I feel much more confident that I will be able to conduct an ordered, logical, and worthwhile class in a classroom in the future.” Peter McGann, USA

Q. What was your opinion of the course location at Sunset Club? “Nothin’ but a little slice of paradise.” Peter McGann, USA

Q. Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? Why/why not?  “I do think it would be possible to teach without a TEFL course, however I personally would not want to do it.  My confidence is through the roof right now and that is due to TEFL.” Michael Huffman, USA

“Ellie is absolutely fantastic.  I could not imagine doing this course with another teacher.  Ellie is one of the best teachers I have ever had and never once did I question her knowledge.” Michael Huffman, USA

Q. Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? Why/why not? “I’ve taught a number of private lessons informally to interested individuals in the past, but now I have the base to bring formality to these lessons. I could have taught English without this course, but now I KNOW how to teach English.” Rockwell Louke, USA

Q. What was your opinion of the course location at Sunset Club? “Best classroom in the world. An hour at lunch to swim in the ocean.” Rockwell Louke, USA

“Thanks for helping me finish university! You can guarantee my positive solicitation of your program back in the United States.” Rockwell Louke, USA

“Sunset Club was extremely relaxing and made for a great learning environment.  The staff was very kind to us and quickly became our friends.  The rooms and facilities were very nice as well.” Michael Huffman, USA

“I had a great experience and would not have changed a thing.” Michael Huffman, USA

 

Testimonials – January 2014

“Overall a very positive and fun experience. I’m glad we chose TEFL Zorritos!” Carly Roden, USA

“The TEFL trainer was incredible. She provided the exact information that I would need in a comprehensible and applicable way.” Rosemary Spitalny, USA

Q. Do you think that you would have been able to teach English without having completed this TEFL course? Why/why not? “I think I would have been able to step into a classroom and talk at students, but definitely not teaching them.  This TEFL course was an incredible experience and I have definitely improved my teaching skills.” George Docherty, UK

“The practical teaching classes were excellent.  Theory in class was very good, but to put it into practice in a challenging environment was imperative.  I think there was enough teaching practice, and in a months course, 10 hours of practice was an incredible experience.” George Docherty, UK

“I think I would have been able to teach English without the course but it would have been extremely difficult for the students to get very much out of it and for me to deliver appropriate material. The TEFL certificate is absolutely necessary to effectively teach English as a foreign language.” Rosemary Spitalny, USA

“The trainer was fantastic.  She obviously had an incredible amount of knowledge and experience and  I especially enjoyed her teaching us.” George Docherty, UK

“The practical classes were very useful. I learned classroom dynamics, lesson preparation, board work, time management, correction techniques, activities, and innumerable other skills. The practical teaching was by far the most valuable part of the course.” Mitch Norton, USA

“I think the course location was great.  Having the Internet everyday was a huge advantage.  I liked being able to take some time after lunch to jump in the ocean and relax in the sun.” Nate Younker, USA

Q. What was your opinion of your TEFL trainer, their knowledge and their delivery of your course? “I feel like I learned from the best of the best.  Beth was very professional and very thorough in her teaching.” Sarah Whisler, USA

“The practice teaching classes were by far the most useful and important part of the class. It’s hard to learn practical skills through theory alone, so you have to have the practical component coupled with detailed observer feedback to really learn anything meaningful about teaching. I feel I learned a lot through the practical teaching – how to plan a lesson, how it really feels to be in a classroom, how to react in real-time to the problems and issues that arise during a lesson, how to respond to student questions and much, much more. At first I thought 10 hours of teaching was going to be excessive, but once I actually started doing it I realized how little time it actually is in the grand scheme of all there is to know.” Carly Roden, USA

“Ellie went above and beyond the call of duty, in my opinion. She immediately jumped on any problems or issues we had, even when they didn’t directly pertain to the course (e.g. going to the pharmacy to get medicine and arranging a consultation with a doctor when I wasn’t feeling well). She was very approachable and accessible and never made us feel like we were bothering her or imposing on her when we asked for advice, assistance or accommodations.” Carly Roden, USA